From octave-sources-request at bevo dot che dot wisc dot edu Wed May 14 17:30:45 2003 Subject: RE: Fwd: { SPAM 2 }:: Your eBay account has violated our User Ag From: (Ted Harding) To: A S Hodel Cc: octave-sources at bevo dot che dot wisc dot edu, Reporting Fraud Date: Wed, 14 May 2003 23:23:44 +0100 (BST) Hi, Out of curiosity, I tried to visit the URL given. The result was: 04 Error - File Not Found The page or file you are looking for http://www.playuh.biz/ebay verification.htm is not here. Possible Reasons: * You may have spelled the URL incorrectly. * This site may have been removed due to a violation of Freeserver's "Acceptable Use Policy". * This site may have been moved to a different server. There was a similar result for http://www.playuh.biz: 404 Error - File Not Found The page or file you are looking for http://www.playuh.biz/index.html is not here. [etc.] These results were sent back from www.freeservers.com. At the end of the web page which shows when this happens, there is an invitation to sign up. Then tried: ping www.playuh.biz PING playuh.biz (208.185.127.168): 56 data bytes --- playuh.biz ping statistics --- 53 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss and: ping www.freeservers.com PING www.freeservers.com (208.185.127.189): 56 data bytes --- www.freeservers.com ping statistics --- 37 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss NOTE the close similarity of the IP addresses of playuh.biz and freeservers.com. Possibly, then, www.players.biz had been hosted on freeservers.com but has since been removed (as stated). But it could also be a trick to get you to visit the freeservers site and hope you might be tempted into signing up. Ted. On 14-May-03 A S Hodel wrote: > To whom it may concern: > > The email below looks like an attempt at identity theft. The > suspicious features are: > > (1) I am asked to "re-activate" my e-bay account. I presume this > involves giving my credit card number, etc. > (2) The web address for re-activation is www.playuh.biz, not > www.ebay.com, and > (3) The email addresses listed in the To line DO NOT include the email > address I use for e-bay, but DO include > an address (octave-sources at bevo dot che dot wisc dot edu) that is used to > support a mathematical software package. > > Begin forwarded message: > >> From: account at ebay dot com () >> Date: Wed May 14, 2003 3:04:07 PM US/Central >> To: desertbob at rglobal dot net, quilisma@socal.rr.com, >> thoehn at theatreorgans dot com, 003065c1a496@eng.auburn.edu, >> 1039113657 dot 8d129c80bebark2 at uky dot edu, a.s.hodel@eng.auburn.edu, >> bebark2 at uky dot edu, octave-sources@bevo.che.wisc.edu, hodelas@auburn.edu, >> levitte at lp dot se >> Subject: { SPAM 2 }:: Your eBay account has violated our User >> Agreement.X >> h6r7 >> Return-Path: >> Return-Path: >> Received: from cartier ([unix socket]) by cartier (Cyrus v2.1.12) with >> LMTP; Wed, 14 May 2003 15:04:27 -0500 >> Received: from Eng.Auburn.EDU (mailhost.eng.auburn.edu >> [131.204.12.13]) by cartier.Eng.Auburn.EDU (8.12.9/8.12.9) with ESMTP >> id h4EK4P1X018993 for ; Wed, 14 May >> 2003 15:04:25 -0500 (CDT) >> Received: from photographymajor.com ([216.117.172.66]) by >> Eng.Auburn.EDU (8.12.9/8.12.9) with SMTP id h4EK4Okl018903; Wed, 14 >> May 2003 15:04:24 -0500 (CDT) >> Received: (from photogra at localhost) by photographymajor.com >> (8.12.9/8.12.9) id h4EK47ax029308; Wed, 14 May 2003 16:04:07 -0400 >> Message-Id: <200305142004 dot h4EK47ax029308 at photographymajor dot com> >> X-Spam-Flag: YES >> X-Spam-Status: Yes, hits=6.1 required=5.1 >> tests=BUGGY_CGI,SUBJ_HAS_SPACES,SUBJ_HAS_UNIQ_ID version=2.52 >> X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 2.52 1.174.2.8-2003-03-24-exp >> >> Below is the result of your feedback form. It was submitted by >> (account at ebay dot com) on Wednesday, May 14, 19103 at 16:04:07 >> ----------------------------------------------------------------------- >> ---- >> >> : Dear ebay user, We are sorry to inform >> you that our servers have crashed... In order for you to keep your >> ebay account, you will need to click > ="http://www.playuh.biz/ebay verification.htm">here (our sign up >> page) and reregister with us. As you know, it's a quick and easy >> process. If you fail to register at the given link, you will not >> be able to use Ebay anymore. We are very sorry for this inconvenience. >> Once again click here to reactivate your Ebay account.-Andrea >> WillsEbay Account Support Team >> >> ----------------------------------------------------------------------- >> ---- >> >> >> > A. S. Hodel, Assoc. Prof, Dept. Elect & Comp Eng, Auburn University, AL > 36849-5201 > (334) 844-1854 200 Broun Hall hodelas at auburn dot edu > http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~scotte -------------------------------------------------------------------- E-Mail: (Ted Harding) Fax-to-email: +44 (0)870 167 1972 Date: 14-May-03 Time: 23:23:44 ------------------------------ XFMail ------------------------------